just listen

I used to cherry pick who I would listen to…so sure that I knew who would and who wouldn’t have something to say that might interest me or add to the knowledge I was seeking.
Until….I started, slowly, to give more people a chance….at work, on TV, in other parts of my life.  What I found was that maybe some of what was being said wasn’t pertinent but, in the mix, there were little treasures…little morsels of wisdom…of acceptance….of passion…and of simple raw beauty.  I have learned to, at least give more chances to those that I previously decided weren’t for me…..at least for a minute or two….then decide.  Don’t base it on whether they are a friend, their education, or any other demographic. I learned just from just deciding listen more often.
2 thoughts on “just listen

Leave a Reply

